DE / EN

One World Cognitive Psychology Seminar

Scientific Exchange Despite the Coronavirus Pandemic

As conferences and guest speaker invitations are being canceled around the world and information about Corona dominates our minds, we are probably all starting to miss some good old cognitive psychology.

Thus, we would like to launch the “One World Cognitive Psychology Seminar” – a weekly online seminar in Zoom featuring a presentation by a stellar cognitive psychologist followed by discussion open to anyone around the world.

The seminar time will be Tuesdays 17:15 – 18:45 Central European Summer Time (CEST).

Idea credit: Leif Döring - “One World Probability Seminar”.

Procedure

The One World CPS will run via the University of Mannheim Educational License in “Zoom”. As a participant, you can log-in via the link for the seminar you are interested in. You can find the correct link in our program table beneath. It will take you to the Zoom meeting. Follow the instructions as follows:

  • Log-in with your academic name. 
  • Please turn off your video.
  • There will be a host with control over the microphones. (As default, only the host's and speaker's microphones are turned on during the presentation.)
  • To ask a question, please use the “raise hand” feature in Zoom. Your microphone and video (optional) will be turned on.

Program

The seminar takes place on Tuesdays from 5:15 p.m. to 6:45 p.m.Central European Summer Time. The same time zone holds in Africa. Please be sure to check your time zone but perhaps this is helpful: That's 8:15 am in Los Angeles and Vancouver, 10:15 am in Chicago, 11:15 am in New York, 04:15 pm in London, 06:15 pm in Moscow, 11:15 pm in Beijing, 00:15 am (Wednesday) in Tokyo and 01:15 am (Wednesday) in Sydney. The speaker and topic of the respective presentation as well as the links for the Zoom meetings can be found in the following program table:

Date Speaker Title Zoom Link/ Meeting-ID Link to the recording
4/21/2020 Daniel M. Bernstein (Kwantlen Polytechnic University, British Columbia, Canada)

The formation and consequences of
false memories

further information

 

https://youtu.
be/YK0PMj
WapT8
4/28/2020 Dayna Touron (University of North Carolina at Greensboro, NC, USA) Age and Individual Differences in Skill Acquisition: Strategy 
Transitions and Memory
Avoidance

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osZKCKvHBx4

5/5/2020 Jeffrey N. Rouder (University of California, Irvine, CA, USA) ANOVA Lies…Sort Of

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PzHcwS3xbZ8

5/12/2020 Stephan Lewandowsky (University of Bristol, UK)

Resisting the Knowledge Dementors

further information

 

https://youtu.be/FUGvU_LijOE
5/19/2020 Jeffrey Starns (University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA)

Using response
time (RT) data to distinguish high
and low
thresholds in recognition memory 

further information

 

https://youtu.be/ZtczQ_zSJlM
5/26/2020 Bertram Gawronski (University of Texas at Austin, TX, USA) Consequences, Norms, and Generalized Inaction: A Multinomial
Model of Moral Dilemma Judgments

 

https://youtu.be/_40bD2OBZkk

Mailing List

To receive reminders and Zoom links for upcoming talks and any news surrounding the One World Cognitive Psychology seminar, subscribe to our mailing list here.