DE / EN

Chair of Health Psychology

Prof. Dr. Jutta Mata

Prof. Dr. Jutta Mata

In health psychology, the work concentrates on the maintenance of health, the development and research of health-promoting measures and prevention. The focus lies on psychological and behavioural processes in health, illness and health care.

Our team at the Chair of Health Psychology, under Prof. Dr. Jutta Mata, conducts research on questions of psychological, social and environmental determinants of health behavior and long-term health behavior change, especially nutrition and physical activity. We investigate mechanisms underlying the relationship between health behaviour and mental health.

Prof. Jutta Mata has been Professor of Health Psychology at the University of Mannheim since September 2015.

In addition, she is an associate researcher at the Center for Adaptive Rationality at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin, the Mannheim Centre for European Social Research (MZES) in Mannheim, and the Centro Interdisciplinar de Estudo da Performance Humana at the University of Lisbon in Portugal. 

Since 2018, she has been engaged in promoting social diversity at the university as equal opportunities commissioner. 

The chair at a glance

Photo credit: Elisa Berdica
Teaching

Overview of all courses and information on writing the final thesis

Photo credit: Elisa Berdica
Research

Overview of the latest publications and current research projects at the chair

Photo credit: Leah Kratschmann
Team

Contact details and consultation hours of our employees

Photo credit: Anna Logue
Media Relations

Our research in print media, radio, and TV

DE / EN

Lehr­stuhl für Gesundheitspsychologie

Prof. Dr. Jutta Mata

Prof. Dr. Jutta Mata

Die Gesundheitspsychologie beschäftigt sich mit der Erhaltung der Gesundheit, der Entwicklung und Erforschung gesundheitsfördernder Maßnahmen sowie der Prävention. Im Fokus stehen psychologische und verhaltens­orientierte Prozesse in Gesundheit, Krankheit und Gesundheitsversorgung.

Unser Team am Lehr­stuhl Gesundheitspsychologie unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Jutta Mata forscht schwerpunktmäßig zu Fragen der psychologischen, sozialen und umweltbezogenen Determinanten von Gesundheitsverhaltensweisen und langfristiger Gesundheitsverhaltensänderung, vor allem von Ernährung und körperlicher Aktivität. Wir untersuchen Wirkmechanismen, die der Beziehung von Gesundheitsverhalten und psychischer Gesundheit zugrunde liegen.  

Prof. Dr. Jutta Mata ist seit September 2015 Professorin für Gesundheitspsychologie an der Universität Mannheim.

Darüber hinaus ist sie assoziierte Wissenschaft­lerin im Fach­bereich Adaptive Rationalität am Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungs­forschung in Berlin, am Mannheimer Zentrum für Europäische Sozialforschung in Mannheim und am Centro Interdisciplinar de Estudo da Performance Humana der Universität Lissabon in Portugal. 

Sie engagiert sich an der Universität Mannheim seit 2018 als Gleichstellungs­beauftragte für soziale Vielfalt.

Der Lehr­stuhl im Überblick

Foto: Elisa Berdica
Lehre

Übersicht aller Lehr­veranstaltungen und Informationen zu wissenschaft­lichen Abschlussarbeiten

Foto: Elisa Berdica
Forschung

Überblick über aktuelle Veröffentlichungen und Forschungs­projekte des Lehr­stuhls

Foto: Leah Kratschmann
Team

Kontakt­informationen und Sprechstundenzeiten unserer Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Foto: Anna Logue
Presse

Unsere Forschung in Print, Radio und Fernsehen